Forum Title: A REAL ROOFER ‚Forum Topic from November 2003
TITLE: A ‚??Real Roofer‚?ù? Mjkelly78 ‚?? I am very new to the roofing business. I have a small construction company and until this weekend I had only been a shingler. This weekend I had my first flat roof experience using 1 inch ISO, and fully adhered EPDM. My father, who is a 35-yer old union roofer showed me how to install the roofing materials properly and says that now I am becoming a ‚??proper roofer‚?ù. His thought is that anyone can read a package of shingles and install them good enough. But until you know how to do flat roofs (rubber, built up, etc.) you are not a roofer, you are just a person that can read and follow directions. What do you guys think about that? No offense intended to shinglers, just wondering what your thoughts are. REPLIES: Mike H ‚?? Wow, what a potato!!! Every roof requires proper installation, however, it is easier to go to Lowes, buy some shingles and put a roof over your house that will effectively shed water, than to buy membrane and all the accessories, then install a flat roof that will not leak for 20 years. The next question is what about Slate, Tile, Metal, Flat Seam Copper!?!?!? The truth is, they are all junk if done wrong, all good if done right. With all of That'said, I don‚??t think putting down one small runner roof makes anyone a real roofer, any more than changing oil and spark plugs makes someone a mechanic. Good luck as you travel the road of greater knowledge. Mjkelly78 ‚?? I totally agree that putting one rubber roof down does not make me a roofer anymore than anyone else. I was asking more about the statement my father made to me about being a real roofer. To be honest, I do not necessarily agree with him, I just wanted to know what you guys thought. Also, I am not trying to offend anyone, and if I have, I apologize. Peter ‚?? HI'mJ, I agree with Mike H and I am glad to see that you do too. There is so much to learn about roofing systems and how to fit t